East African Community Welcomes Somalia as Full Member

Certainly, here’s the revised text with paragraphs:

Somalia has officially joined the East African Community (EAC) as a full member, having fulfilled all the necessary requirements for membership in the regional bloc.

The EAC secretariat announced on X, formerly known as Twitter, that Somalia completed the process by depositing its Instrument of Ratification with the Secretary General of the bloc. This instrument signifies Somalia’s formal agreement to be bound by the treaty.

In November of last year, the heads of state of the other EAC member states unanimously approved Somalia’s admission into the bloc. Somalia now stands as the eighth member of the EAC, alongside Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, South Sudan, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Uganda.

This development aims to stimulate economic growth in Somalia, a nation still in recovery from three decades of conflict.

Leave a Comment

Related Articles

English News

Facebook Feed

Our YouTube Channel